#DSESRocks Family Art Night

Standard

20170916_112000

My College buddy Ali runs a Children’s Art Foundation in the Central Valley. A few months ago, she posted an art project she was doing in her area #805Rocks. I knew it would be really fun for our Family Art Night.

IMG_20170914_200808_593

I started looking in my yard for rocks but realized that it would be a huge task to dig up and wash a hundred rocks. I do have a rocky yard but whew digging and washing and sorting rocks AND planning for art night was just a little too big of a job! I opted for buying a bag of white rocks for about $13 from Home Depot.

20170914_182511

I already had acrylic paint, a few paints pens, and some sharpies from past projects so I just had to buy some inexpensive paint brushes.

20170914_183747

It was a lot of fun. We ended up having such a huge turn out that we ran out of rocks. A couple of teachers, the principal and I all looked around the school yard but there were few to be had. I suppose it might be a good idea in the future if I ask our PTA to do an interest survey to make sure we have enough supplies.

20170914_190738

I look forward to seeing the posts with the hashtag on social media. I also hope the families paint and plant their own rocks in  our community.

Leave a Reply

