Weaving on a loom

Standard

45833518

I finally did weaving with my third grade kids. I went to a teacher workshop at the Mingei Museum and the facilitator gave us each a bag with the beginnings to do weaving project with a group of 24 students. There were 3 skeins of yarn and 24 cardboard looms.

45833479

I had a few looms of my own which finally made this do-able for a whole class. The first day, I had no adult helpers so we identified our third grade table experts who were able to assist students who needed help with the concept of weaving on a loom.

45833682

The next groups of students came a few days later. I reached out to classroom teachers and asked for extra volunteers.

45833673

It was great to have several adults each period making the process much easier and more enjoyable for everyone.

45833668

Leave a Reply

