Bumble Bee Collage

Standard

45833096Oh I love my little K’s!  I had asked one of the K teachers what was happening in K so I could pick a fun lesson that related to the classroom lessons.

45858117

She told me her class would miss art the following day because they had a guest coming to school to talk to the kids about bees.

45858347

They had inadvertently planned a reverse field trip with an apiarist (bee keeper) during her class art time! Well, K’s missing art was a sad thing for me and for her so I invited them to join me into the art room that very day after lunch.

45858627

She was able to quickly re-work their afternoon schedule and I was able to squish them in between things for their 30 minute art time. I literally threw this lesson together in my head on my walk back to the art room after lunch. It was a win-win if there ever was!

45858696

Students used yellow paper and black crayon for the bees. We glued those on then they used a paper donation for the wings. It is paper for some sort of office machine-it came on a roll and is iridescent on one side and has the thickness of tissue paper-really fun for wings and jellyfish tentacles. After they glued on their bees, they added flowers in oil pastel to the black paper.

Leave a Reply

