Father’s Day Portraits

Standard

3191941631919661

I recently was a substitute in a friend’s combo class and she asked me to do something for Father’s Day with her students. One of the preschool teachers at my school does Mother’s Day portraits with her students every year and they are adorable. For this group of very capable second and third graders, I chose to have them paint a portrait of their father and write a cinquain poem.

photo 2 (2)photo 1 (2)photo 3 (2)

Because I had an entire day to work with the students, we started by drawing a light pencil sketch of the head, neck and shoulder and painting the skin color in the morning. By afternoon, we had completed our daily work, the paint was dry and students were able to add all of the details.

photo 2photo 1

I did demo how to make different kinds of eyes, noses, ears and hair. My hope was that the hair would look a little more realistic than just painting a strip of color across the top of the head. I think they all did a great job of making them their own.

photo 5

I hope the dads are pleased with their portraits. I know the students had a great time painting them. Wouldn’t it be fun to have a picture of the dads next to their portraits?

3191963131919204

Leave a Reply

