Poppin’ Chalk Positive and Negative Space

Standard

29938086

I wish I could find the original lesson plan but I cannot I have been doing this one for a few years. It is quick, easy, looks pretty good and can be done with just about any die cut image and a box of chalk or chalk pastel.

I like to do this on black paper because the images pop off the page.

Students trace a heavy chalk line around the die cut template. They they could create their own. In this case, it was flowers and butterflies. I have done everything from heart to shamrocks to leaves. Leaving the template in place, they rub the chalk away from the template. They lift off the template and repeat. I encourage them to overlap shapes, go off the page and try different colors.

29938108  29938053

 

 

Leave a Reply

