Cats as a Hat or Chat-peau

Image

29666371

I love to do yearly self portraits with students. I used to do the same self-portrait year after year with my students. I have found that it is much more fun to do them with a twist.

This lesson was created for my 1/2 combo class. It is based on a french cartoon I saw years ago that was a person wearing a “chat-peau”-a pun on the french word chat meaning cat combined with chapeau meaning hat. (Les chats que de la chapeaux.)

2966348629663513

Students first drew a self portrait. We talked about facial features and proportion. They looked at images of cats. I showed them pictures of napping cats as well as cat breeds. We used oil pastel. We discussed blending and how to layer colors.

29666380  29664734

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

