Art Teaching

Standard

I am credentialed in K-8 and have an art supplement for grades 9 and below.  My current job is only part time but I do love teaching art so I supplement my income by substituting in our district.

I started as a classroom volunteer in the district in 1998. I started doing centers in my daughter’s first grade classroom in 2004. We did science and art projects that I brought in-everything from bubble prints to erupting volcanoes to pounded flower art to quilt squares to adinkra cloth. I worked closely with the classroom teacher and we worked out a schedule such that the projects I brought in worked perfectly with the classroom curriculum.

That same year, the school site adopted the Arts Attack Program and I became an art docent.  I more or less used those lessons in the first year of the program but then began doing my own lessons that linked the art lessons to the classroom curriculum.

When a new school opened in our district, those families wanted an art program. When they asked me about how they could get art into the classrooms, I told them about all the programs I knew of that were being offered in our district (Meet the Masters, Art Corps, Arts Attack, etc.). The majority were run by volunteers.

After looking at all of their options, members of the PTA and foundation along with the school principal came and observed me teaching a lesson and talked with the students and the classroom teacher. They also visited with another teacher I was working with that year to see the lessons I had done with her class and to talk with that teacher and her students. They chose me to teach art to their students.

I decided to start a blog primarily as a reference for me. If it helps someone else, that is great. I have been teaching art at the same school in San Diego since 2009.

 

Leave a Reply

